The Volcanoes of the Island of Hawaii

Landsat image of the Island of Hawaii, January 7, 1978, courtesy of the U.S. Geological Survey.

Lesson at a glance, Key Concepts, and Lesson Outcomes are available by clicking here.

Click here for a list of activities and teaching suggestions about volcanoes that make up the Island of Hawaii.

Click here for a list of references about the volcanoes of the Island of Hawaii.


The subaerial (under air, above sea level) portion of the Island of Hawaii is made of five volcanoes. From oldest to youngest, they are Kohala, Mauna Kea, Hualalai, Mauna Loa, and Kilauea. Each volcano can be recognized by its size, shape, and physical features. Two other volcanoes, Mahukona and Loihi, add to the submarine base of the island.

Back to Teacher's Guide

To VolcanoWorld

Next Section