Volcanoes of the Island of Hawaii -- at a Glance

Lesson at a glance:
The students will use slides and activities to learn the volcanoes and the evolution of the Island of Hawaii.

Key Concepts:

Five volcanoes make up the Island of Hawaii. From oldest to youngest they are Kohala, Mauna Kea, Hualalai, Mauna Loa, and Kilauea. Two submarine volcanoes, Mahukona and Loihi, are on the flanks of the island. Each volcano can be recognized by its size, shape, and physical features.

Lesson Outcomes:

The students will:
    1. Learn the names of the volcanoes of the Island of Hawaii.
    2. Recognize the volcanoes of the island.
    3. Describe the evolution of the island.

Back to Introduction

Back to Teacher's Guide

To VolcanoWorld